How to replace the Capsule Componet on a Charater

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Unreal and I have been trying to do movement. I got it working on a Character and now all I need to do is just replace the Capsule Component because it’s collision isn’t really working good for my purpose. But I can’t seem to replace the Capsule Component and I just can’t seem to replace it. Everything I try doesn’t work. I drag on my Static mesh and it doesn’t work. Anything I try doesn’t work. Someone please help me. All help is appreciated.

The best way is for you to make your own character class. So make a copy of the Character class (call it XCharacter for example), replace the capsule component, compile and done. Now, just create a BP or a class, that inherits from XCharacter instead of Character.

I don’t understand what you mean. All I need to do is replace the capsule component. Can you describe what your saying in more detail please?

Edit: I am trying to find the actual character class and I can’t find it

Character Class is created in c++ code and Capsule is Inherited variable (wich means it is defined in one of parent classes), so you can not manipulate it by simply dragging and replacing it. I’m not sure if you can change it without getting into code at all.
So like the previous commentor said, you would have to create your own character class, including all the needed components and instead of capsule add other shape. But there’s another problem, as far as I know movement component relies on collision to be capsule, so that might be a problem too.

Why do you need any other collision shape? You might just add another collision inside your character and attach it to capsule, make capsule small and see what happens

No. That way is a mess and isn’t that straightforward.

2 Likes