How to Publish Unreal Engine 5 Game to Browser?

Hi, I am an amateur indie game developer and I have just created my first game in Unreal Engine 5.0. I am trying to share this game with my friends so they can try it out, and I think the easiest way to do this is via browser (Chrome). Does anyone know a way I can export and publish my game on a browser website at no cost?

you are talking about file hosting. If you don’t mind your contacts having the game files (packed) then you could upload the packed game to a file host. Google Drive is a reasonable option just to put a Zipped pack temporarily for a few people to download by a shared link. Alternatively you could have the packed game on a test PC within your own hosted test network and let people remote control the test pc, similar to TeamView. A good remote desktop program for gaming remotely is Parsec but mind you need average to good internet to make that work in 1080p streaming with no input lag.

2 Likes

Hey there @adv_ar! Welcome to the unreal forums! As the others have said, web support was put on hold (indefinitely) for some time. If your project was UE4.24 and down you could use a community made plugin that supported HTML5 builds, but that community hasn’t worked on it in 2ish years. UE5 and the HTML5 platform - #14 by goldenspiral

That said, I second everyone else in saying you can pack the game normally if these are just some pals and a small game and you don’t need any obfuscation etc.

here’s the documentation: Packaging Unreal Engine Projects | Unreal Engine 5.0 Documentation

Hope this helps!

4 Likes

I packed my game and share with friends, they are trying to install and Microsoft Windows 10 antivirus is giving them very critical warning that the game contain virus, I am currently figuring this out how to pack the game as a known trusted installer instead of archieving it with winrar which is not trusted by windows.

2 Likes

my game is a pure compiled UE4 engine :smiley: microsaft is funny