How to "play" a Composure composite video?

Greetings,

I’m new to UE4 (and game engines more generally). I successfully stepped through this compositing tutorial., but I can’t figure out how to actually view the finished composited video. I can preview by right clicking root node in the Composure panel, but that just seems to show the correctly-composited first frame of the video with CG components in the foreground and background. How do I actually play the composited video?

Sorry for the newbie question, but I guess the tutorial assumes one already knows that basic info. Thanks for any guidance!

Ok, not positive about this but…I think you have to record and play the unreal window with an external tool like OBS. If everything you are doing is CG, you can record it with sequencer which records the animation info of all the CG objects and can play them back. I think sequencer can also render out to images or ProRes video also. I’m not sure what will happen if you are doing a composite with live video and try to do a prores recording with sequencer, I haven’t had a chance to try that yet.

Some people get a BlackMagic or Aja card that supports output and then use an external recorder like a Atomos Ninja V or another PC to record it.

I’m looking into other recording options, if I come up with something good I’ll post it.

Thanks for the response, @Greg.Corson. The tutorial I referenced suggests that output is optional. The last section states…

…which implies that the resulting composite can be previewed in the editor, but I sure can’t figure out how. I don’t see why it wouldn’t be possible, but it’s certainly not obvious to me. I’m on a Mac, BTW, so some of the options you mentioned might not be applicable.

Thanks again.

OBS is available on Mac, so I assume it would work for recording the screen.