How to organize your animation system.

I’m trying to make an Enemy-Soldier-NPC.
And while i experimented around (i’m still quite new to unreal), it turns out, it’s not that easy to make a good, effective system.
My first few attemps were not… good. Even with layers and blendspaces, the results are offen hard-to-manage spiderwebs with a ton of variables you have to keep an eye on.
Unfortunally it’s really hard to find fully-fledged examples of an animation system. And tutorials are usually too simple.
So, does anyone know good ressources, of how to create a good, and easy-to-manage structures, even for more complex behavior?

1 Like

The best answer I can give you to this - after over a year of actually doing it - is don’t do it.
Don’t put any code at all in the animgraph.
All the animations, their triggering, etc. It all needs to be handled externally by the character BP.

state changes need to be called by simple variable changes. Booleans, int changes, etc. So that changing a value externally automatically affects the BP.

It’s not easy, but you definitely won’t have any spiderwebs of nodes anymore.

The state machines will get messy. Thats inevitable. Afterall many states need to lead into other states. (Transition rules should also have no code).

For instance, one could be tempted to toss every state in the statemachine into a “death” statemachine.
Dont do that either.
The best way to avoid all of that is to use montages instead.

Any time something has to override everything or almost everything, you can use a montage and get a seme if not better result.

As a general rule of thumb I now keep my graphs very minimal.
A few walk cycles for different weapons when they really, really need it and a montage won’t handle nice enough.
a solid jump/land system
turn in place.
crouch/prone stares.
and that’s about it.

Leg/body IK is really the only thing that may somewhat resemble coding which I pipe in at the end of the list before the output pose.