How to make tiling/modular meshes not look so obviously tiled?

Can anyone share best practices for getting the most out of your modular meshes with respect to avoiding obvious repeating patterns? I’m relatively new to modular meshes and I’m noticing that when I place the same mesh next to itself, the diffuse texture looks fine but the normal and spec maps are too obviously patterned and ruin the effect. Specifically, I’m talking about scratches and destruction in wall and floor panels that should come from wear & tear and shouldn’t be *exactly *the same for each panel. However, I also don’t want to create a unique material and/or mesh for each instance, for obvious performance reasons.

What I’m wondering is if there is a way to create just a single material that I can apply to a single modular/tiling mesh that can support multiple normal or specular map inputs?

Maybe I’m missing something obvious so other suggestions are completely welcome.

Thanks

World position detail usually on the macro scale rather than the micro scale. If you have a world position variation in say the roughness map or small variation in the albedo map, it tends to blend thing in and makes it less repeated look. Also decoration meshes (thing that can be used to decorate the modular pieces) and also decals can split allot up too.

Hey Ghiest, thanks for the response. I’m with you on the decoration meshes, I certainly try to do that as much as makes sense. However, can you elaborate on using world position detail a bit more? I’m not sure I understand and my searching for an example hasn’t quite returned what I was looking for.

If you open up some of the materials in the starter content (or the free materials pack from the marketplace) you’ll see what they did with macro variation. For example, M_Ground_Gravel.