How to make character follow an array of points (not spline based)?

Hi Guys,

First let me say I’m still learning and I’m using Blueprints.

What I need to do is pass my character an array of vectors and have it travel to each of the points in sequence. I tried to use MoveToLocation in a loop, but move to location doesn’t give me any signal when it ends. I tried to find other nodes off the AI controller that might do this in a synchronous manner but no dice.

This seems like something that should be easy to accomplish but I’m not having much luck. There is probably a better way than movetolocation. What is the best way to make it happen in a blueprint project? Maybe a plugin somewhere provides this function?

Many Thanks,

Hi antsonthetree,

I cannot provide you any screenshots because I’m not on my pc where UE is installed but maybe this helps:

when you having an AI controller already I assume you are also using behavior tree?

You can setup selector nodes with decorators to check if the movement goal has reach and if so move to the next target point?
(maybethis https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/AI/BehaviorTrees/NodeReference/Decorators/index.html#reachedmovegoal or built a custom one)

I know this is not very generic. But you can make it more generic by maybe setting some values when the location is reached to use the next target point in your loop.
Just as an idea

I just setup a blueprint that has an array in it with actors you have placed in the scene, or spawned through the blueprint itself. Then you just step through the array and pick the next point once they have reached the other

Do it as Zoltan wrote, but i have small improvement.

Make empty/dummy blueprint, add to it single ARROW pointing up (it will be visible in editor but not in game)
Place those blueprints in level in spots you want as destination.

Then on begin play of your player controller do foreach of that blueprint arrow typ, you get array of all destination points.