How to make an Orbit around the Player, where the Position on the Orbit is controlled by the Cursor?

Hi im trying to make a sphere that has an orbit around the player, but the spheres position on the orbit is whereever its closest to the cursor.
I have a spline as the orbit around the player character, thats where the orbit reference is from.
I always get this error message :

Blueprint Runtime Error: “Accessed
None trying to read property
OrbitReference”. Blueprint: Drone
Function: Execute Ubergraph Drone
Graph: EventGraph Node:
SetActorLocation

I am new to Unreal, so im sorry if this is something really obvious, but this is my Blueprint so far:

The Project is the Basic Top Down Template, i only changed the movement to be WASD, and added a Dash.
If there is some Information missing, just ask.
Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

I always get this error message

Creating a variable does nothing on its own - it is not associated with any object. Imagine if you had 5 orbits and 5 drones - how is the engine supposed to know who is who…

You need to tell the orbit reference which orbit actor you mean. Are both the drone and the orbit in the Level Blueprint? If that’s the case, use the Instanced Editable reference to point it at the actor you need:

347188-screenshot-1.png

When i created the Variable, the Variable type is set to variable type to the spline object. Does that not tell the orbit reference which orbit i mean?

347201-bild-2021-08-24-205325.png

And neither are in the Level Blueprint.

When i created the Variable, the
Variable type is set to variable type
to the spline object. Does that not
tell the orbit reference which orbit i
mean?

Nope, sadly - what if you had 40 orbits? It’s a reference - it’s in the name, it has to refer to an instance of an orbit actor. Which orbit actor? Where is the actor?