How to make an object roll when controlled as a third person character?

Hi! I am pretty much a complete beginner to UE and would need a little help with figuring out how to make a static object roll/animate in a particular way when controlled as a character.

I basically would like to replace the model of the mannequin used for the ThirdPersonTemplate with an inanimate object (cylinder, barrel, vegetable, wheel etc.) so I can keep the controls and movement, but would like for the object to roll/animate in a way that I have tried to illustrate in the attached image. I guess that would mean it rotates and moves at the Z and Y axis, but not the X?

Is this something that can be done using blueprints? If so could anyone offer some pointers or tell me how to accomplish this? I am using Unreal Engine 4.27.2

Any help is appreciated!

I think you can basically replace the current movement code with a few ā€˜add local rotationā€™ nodes.

Having said that, probably the easiest approach, is to use the rolling ball project template and replace the ball with your vegetable :slight_smile:

Thank you for your response!

Although the problem there is that by using the rolling template, the object would rotate in a way I donā€™t want it to as well as not having as controlled movement as a third person character would, with the ball/object picking up speed and keeping the momentum going in a way that I am not looking for.
I suppose that is something that could be changed, but as I said, I am still pretty unfamiliar with coding and working in UE.

But your suggestion is very much appreciated! I will keep trying to wrap my head around all this and see if I can figure things out.

Can you describe the look and feel a bit more? Itā€™s not like a rolling ball, but itā€™s more likeā€¦ ( your answer here )