How to make a game without gameplay framework

Hi, I am new to UE and I have a background with Unity.
I spent two evenings trying to figure out how to make a minimal game without all the stuff I dont need.
UE4 forces me to use PlayerController, HUD, GameState etc. the concepts of its Gameplay framework, but my game does not need any of those. I want to write my own actors.

This guide mentions that I can disable gameplay framework somehow, but I can not find a way to do it anywhere :frowning:

You can’t ‘Disable’ it, but you can choose not to use those classes if you really want to. Either way you can’t avoid some things, like have a Controller for the player for example. Without that you get no input, no camera, nothing really. That guide is pretty misleading to be honest.

I would recommend sticking with it where it’s applicable, because otherwise you’ll be fighting the engine all the way.

Thanx for the reply!
I found that in project settings I can disable some of the annoying actors

So no Pawn and no HUD, we are getting closer :slight_smile:
Now I understand that I need PlayerController to manage camera and input. The name “PlayerController” does not fit my project, but I can live with that.
For some reason I cant remove GameState, PlayerState and Spectator, how do I do that? Or these actors also have some important roles I am not aware of?

Why don’t you just not use them in you’re code? You can ignore stuff like GameState etc… What is you’re game idea? Maybe we can help you fit you’re game into the framework?
You really shouldn’t be wasting time looking at this stuff effectively not using these classes in you’re code is the same as setting them to None…