How to hire a voice actor?

Hi, I need a voice actor for my game. Lets say I find one from fiverr what kind of agreement do I need for commercial use? Can it be signed digitally or does it need to be signed and sent by post? I have never done this before. Any info much appreciated!

VoiceBunny

Add a question to this topic, Anyone have some idea an approximate price / word, price / time. I know the price depends on the voice actor, but an average ?
That information could help to define some design decisions. As I probably supposed, voice acting is not cheap.

Voice actors are expensive.
And the more demands and actor has, the more his/her prices goes up…

It’s a very BAD idea to even add voices to your game if your development budget is below $100.000
If you are making a “first game ever”, consider not using voices at all.

no voices then … :o

You can try http://voiceactingalliance.com/
and http://voiceacting.proboards.com

There are talented voice actors there who are looking to participate in projects for a reduced rate and sometimes even for free, in order to add to their portfolio. You never know what kind of auditions you will receive :slight_smile:

If you decide to post auditions make sure you follow the guidelines.

There seems to be a lot of misinformation here about this.

(from www.voices.com)

"When budgeting for a voice-over in your video game, consider this rule of thumb, $100-250 per page of script. A page of script is approximately 250 to 300 words. Here’s an example:

1000 words of dialog between characters in your game
Approximately 4 pages of script
Budget between $400 and $1000"

More info can be found here Video Game Voice Actors - Best Voice Overs | Voices

It’s not just the cost of actors that counts.