Download

How to hide walls like Diablo and other ARPG games?

I have just started using Unreal Engine and have made a couple of small projects following tutorials and lessons. I have just started work on my first real project a top down arpg like diablo/path of exile etc. But i have come to a problem, i cant seem to work out how to make the walls disappear (or cut in half like diablo) i have looked at some posts regarding this subject online and tried following some YouTube videos but they are all nearly 5 years old or they don’t seem to function correctly anymore.

I am a beginner in Unreal engine so would appreciate anyone replying treating my like an idiot with an explanation if possible. Very much appreciate anyone taking the time to help.

There was a nice live training on this. let me see if I can fish it up.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXbE0IqbA7w

[quote=“MostHost_LA, post:2, topic:148338”]

There was a nice live training on this. let me see if I can fish it up.https://youtube.com/watch?v=GXbE0IqbA7w[/QUOTE]

Thank you!

I am following his video but at this point https://youtu.be/GXbE0IqbA7w?t=746 he adds two items with i am guessing key binds but i don’t know what he presses, hes talking about opacity but all of the opacity nodes i tried do not look like what he is adding.

Sorry i am a complete beginner trying to learn as i go so if this is something very obvious, apologies.

Oh. To enable the opacity mask all you need to do is change the material type from opaque to Maqked.
to get to it click on nothing / the final material.

Thanks again.

I have finished his tutorial and have come upon some problems. I get the small circle which i can re adjust as i need but for some reason i am getting another area that is becoming see through as you can see from the images.

I think it is probably to do with him using a third person camera and me using a top down camera but i am unsure how to fix it. i have linked the blueprint i have used also.