How to have a different movement between two attached static mesh

Hi there,

I’m new in here and I’m just starting to learn Unreal and I’m stuck since a week with a simple problem… I really hope you guys can help me in here, or I won’t have any hair left ^^

I tried to create a rotating ball character (moving with physic) that would have an optionnal attached ring pivoting around.

ball

Basically the ball is supposed to roll depending of the movement input (this part is alright ^^’) but the ring would always face the aiming point (controller Yaw and pitch Input).

My issue is that I only found a way to control the Ball AND the ring with physics. Or the ball OR the RIng with character Movement and animation but not with physics.

Any Idea on how I can force the Ring to move with the ball (location) and to not follow the ball’s rotation when it’s rolling ?

Thanks in advance, for your help or your time ! :slight_smile:

Cédric

If I understood…you want the ball to freely roll by physics but you also want a ring attached to it with independent oritentation/rotation…that is not hard

You have the BALL mesh component (with physics and roattion) that is child of default scene root.

then you have the RING component…

you just have to avoid attach the ring to the ball…just update the ring position to ball position

in event tick or whatever do:

like this:

1 Like

Hey, I just wanted to share a few general tips since you mentioned you are new (and in process of pulling hair out):

If having trouble with something, try to explain it out loud (even if nobody is there to listen). Explain it in as dumb, simple caveman language as you can. For example:
Ring should follow ball.
Ring should not rotate around ball.
Ring is rotating around ball. Why?

I know it sounds dumb but really trying to simplify as much as you can will help avoid the danger of over-complicating which can lead you down very stressful rabbit holes :).