How to get Random row from DataTable then cast selected column to other blueprint actors

Hello everyone,

I am currently looking for a solution for my project, I have watched countless tutorials and looked through the forum with no exact answer. This is my first time posting and I hope someone will be kind enough to help.

I need to use unreal engine 4.27 for a coming event where there will be a lucky draw for employees. I need to be able to:

1. Be able to import all Employee Name and ID to a data table (this is done)
  2. Create a Blueprint Actor to get a random row from the data table (done also)
  3. Select the UserName and UserID from the randomly selected entry and cast both strings to another Blueprint Class (issues here)
  4. Receive the string data on the Blueprint class that will display the result as a 3D Text (also issues here)

Main Problems:

1. I can get Random Row or Specific Column, but can’t seem to get a specific cell (Get this string from this column from the random selected row) Most video tutorials show you how to print string data from a row or a column but none show how to print string the result of a specific cell.
  2. Cast the string to another blueprint, and also receive the string data on the new blueprint from the original blueprint.

Will really appreciate any help. Cheers

The Data Table holds a bunch of structs, each entry is a column, break the struct to get your data:

Cast the string to another blueprint, and also receive the string data on the new blueprint from the original blueprint.

You use the word Cast as if it was a method of communication in itself. It is not. Cast is a test + conversion. It tests whether the object is of a specific type and then converts it to that type so you can access it in a way unique to that object type.

In order to cast, you need a reference to the object first. In order to obtain a reference, we need to know where the object is.