How to extract static mesh from BP, populate another BPs static mesh var.

I have an app that is more of a tool than anything. It works on static meshes. I’m pretty new to the Unreal world and blueprints and I’m not finding exactly what I’m looking for in my online searching… I was hoping I might get some assistance from the community…

Without going into a lot of history here, I need to change the way this works (I’m not the original developer and as mentioned, pretty new to all this). Currently I have a “Control_BP” that exposes a static mesh variable to the World Outliner. This all works and the entire app works. But, I need to change it to the following type of structure which I explain below.

I have a hierarchy of blueprints based on a static mesh. I right clicked on the static mesh, chose “Asset Actions -> Create Blueprint using this” which created a blueprint based on “Actor” and I have named it “RootStaticMesh_BP”
From there I have created children blueprints “Right Click -> Create Child Blueprint Class”. These child blueprints will hold one static mesh with materials on them… Examples would include things like; Basketball_BP, Car_BP, House_BP, Dog_BP, etc…

So, now I have to change “Control_BP” to expose the “RootStaticMesh_BP” which I have done with a variable named “Model_BP”. And because of Inheritance, from the content browser I can drag one child blueprint, say “Car_BP”. This all works, or so it would seem as the World Outliner let me drag a child onto this parent exposed field.

Control_BP already has a publicly exposed Static Mesh variable called “Model” that we HAD been using which is where we would drag a static mesh onto from the content browser. However, this really does not need to be exposed in the World Outliner anymore now that I’ve exposed the “RootStaticMesh_BP” and this is what will contain the static mesh we want to operate on.