How to Disable/lower gravity ingame using keybind?

Hello

i am new to using the Unreal Engine 4 and am currently wondering if there is a way, using Blueprints, to disable or to lower gravity ingame using a keybindng?

Thank you

Maybe question on AnswerHub will help you?

There i sthis tutorial is well, not sure if it covers your question.

[QUOTE=TheSpaceMan;165220]
Maybe question on AnswerHub will help you?

There i sthis tutorial is well, not sure if it covers your question.

The first link might help me, i’ll have a try what is mentioned on those blueprints if i can figure some of them out.
That second link was just a tutorial on how to set or disable the world settings for gravity (which is something i already know how to do).

What I am aiming to do is create a game that relies on the ability to change gravity using the keyboard ingame.

I have just read through the first link which provides blueprints but unfortunately they were not very helpful as some of the blueprint nodes they use i am unable to locate such as gravity scale.

Does Unreal Engine 4 contain a native blueprint gravity node, or does particular node have to be created for use in the blueprints?

As far as I know you can’t change gravity on the fly

How many things in the world would be affected? Actors or simply static meshes?

For the moment the only thing i would like to have affected by gravity on the fly ingame is the character.

Oh that’s easy then! Gravity is “just” a force accelerating everything downwards. Basically, just have an EventTick node and use thee “Add Force” node to apply a vector force downwards on your character. You can make vector change dynamically through other controls to change the “gravity”.

To do it really properly, use the delta time pin and multiply you vector by that. Your vector will have to be much smaller but that means that the force will be proportional to the amount of time the tick/frame took

1 Like