How to develop a project in a cloud drive?

I have a large cloud drive (2TB) that works on my computer like an external hard drive, and I’d like to create and develop a project inside of it, rather than on a local drive, for a couple of reasons. First, I have a lot more free space on this cloud drive than on my local drive. In addition to that, I’m a university student, and I’d like to be able to work on my project at home on my PC and at uni on my laptop.

I’ve tried this before but encountered a few problems. First, Unreal had an extremely difficult time packaging the project in a cloud drive. Second, I like modifying engine code to better suit my game’s needs, but only the project files were saved on the cloud drive. The Unreal application was installed locally on both my PC and laptop, so any changes I made to the engine on one device did not transfer over. Lastly, since the engine was different on my PC and laptop, there were a lot of problems with my solution, since the engine didn’t know which engine to load.

Does anyone know the correct way to do this, or if there’s a better alternative I should be considering instead?

Thanks in advance!

Hey @ThatNerdFury!

I don’t mean to be a debbie downer, but you really probably shouldn’t try to do it all ON the cloud drive. The reason for that is the pure amount of data that would have to go back and forth at all times, and having to interact with your local hardware to build on a distant drive. Instead, you should look into setting up your cloud drive to be your Source Control!

Basically, the way it works is the “Prime” version is stored on the cloud. Then, say at Uni, you have your laptop updated to match the cloud version. You change a few things on your laptop version, and you submit all changes at once. You go home, hit update, now on your home PC it is identical.

In essence, as many working copies as you want, ONE true version.