How to create .xcodeproj for PC started project

I started my project on PC as “Development editor”, “Win64”. I clone the project folder to the mac, but there’s no .xcodeproj file to open this up for xcoder. I want to build this project to IOS divices. Thank You, Mike

There is a File named ‘GenerateProjectFiles.sh’ in UnrealEngine/Engine/Build/BatchFiles/Mac ; you can use it for generating xcode project.

./GenerateProjectFiles.sh -project="PATH/To/Project/UnrealProject.uproject" -game

you can find more information Here

1 Like

I’m very new to the Mac. Can you tell me how to run the “GenerateProjectFiles.sh” file? And is this going to create a .xcodeproj file within my game project file? Im trying to open my PC game project on the Mac to create an iOS device game. Thanks, Mike

How did you installed the engine on your mac? did you build the engine or using Unreal Engine Launcher ? Do you have any plans for writing some C++ codes for your game, or you just want to use Blueprint ?
btw the official documentation for iOS is here : iOS, iPadOS, and tvOS support for Unreal Engine | Unreal Engine 5.1 Documentation

As to run “GenerateProjectFiles.sh” you should use “terminal” type CMD+space and there write “terminal”. Navigate to the said directory (with cd name and list files with ls and also know where dir are you in pwd and run the file as: ./GenerateProjectFiles.shnote the ./ in unix systems means run the file that is in this directory.

I installed using the source files,and Built the engine. Thanks for your help. The official documentation has been very hard to follow. My friend will be doing the C++ programming. I’m trying to learn the Mac side of things for the packaging and deploying.

Do you have Apple Developer Account ? it is required for iOS publishing. even for testing game on your own iPhone!

i recommend you to install Unreal Engine Launcher and download “Tappy Chicken” sample from Marketplace,then try to deploy it on your device.