How to create custom property access like in lyra's blueprint thread safe update animation

So I am a bit of a beginner and is trying to learn more about the Blueprint thread safe update animation by trying to implement it with the third person template. I cannot seem to be able to create a function and have it show up in the property access drop down like with lyra’s mannequin animation blueprint “GetMovementComponent” to get access to specific values you won’t be normally able to get to with property access. Is there something I am overlooking or is this something enabled with C++ and if so where.

6 Likes

I figured it out you have to set that custom function to pure in the detail tab and makes sure the name of the return value is “ReturnValue” as well.

6 Likes

■■■■■■■■,there is a function called “GetMovementComponent” in lyra’s animbp

1 Like

I was stuck on this for 4 hours now, Troubleshooting to figure out what I am doing wrong and find out “what I am googling for” and the ReturnValue mentioned in the solution was my issue. I had a trailing space because the output variable name wouldnt save if I didnt have it but afterward I was able to delete it and it worked?

So in short, Save your output variables by adding the space afterward but immediatly remove the trailing space after it saves so the intellisense can pick up your function on the property access tab. Because I can imagine if you put this off for later you might forget to do it.

Thanks again OP. You just saved me a frustrating afternoon.

Same here, i just lost 90min thanks to you all :slight_smile: