How to create a raycast permanent/constant?

Hi my name is divine and I’m a noob in both programming and blueprints. And I’m starting to like blueprints.
Well I want to create a detection system in blueprint using raycast to interact with objects. I want it where in if the object interaction is true then there’s shows a detection message (“open”, “pick” , “use” , “press E” , “etc”). Well the interaction system with the helpful message is easy with the box trigger (like the epic tutorials) but I want the detection to be pin point so if I have stack pile of objects in front of me then I can only trigger that single object that I want without triggering the objects beside it. So I tried to create a ray cast and its workin pretty fine. Well as I observed what raycast is doing is its firing rays rapidly. So when I tried to use ray cast to toggle visibility of the “detection message” it toggles on and off so frikin fast and the message was already flickering. Same with other objects, lights etc. Is there a way that I can only cast a single ray that is constant or permanent?

I havent tried yet but, I was actually thinking to fake this by putting a long straight mesh pointing in front of the camera like the raycast to simulate detection system. but I’m not really sure if this is goin to be efficient since I’m still goin to deal with a lot of trigger boxes. like 1 trigger box is to one interactive item.

Line Trace is what you are looking for.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Gameplay/HowTo/UseRaycasts/Blueprints/index.html

thanks for the response, thats the same line trace I use. And as Ive said on my post its firing rapid rays that if I use that to toggle visibility or detection its goin to toggle on and off so fast. Frikin fast! xD

Ahh, sorry. I should have read the whole thing. :stuck_out_tongue: