How to create a "magic door"-effect

Hi!

My name is Lina, I’m a student in visual communication and am currently working on my graduation project!! It centers around tarot readings. Besides creating different tarot cards in 3D I’m building a VR-environment with ue4, where the tarot readings will take place. It’s a bit similar to a card game but the main focus is looking at every card’s different images, there are no game functions involved.

Before I started this project I had no experience in ue4, so I’ve spent a lot of time in tutorials trying to get to know as much as I can and I’m still trying to wrap my head around a lot of stuff. However, I’ve managed to get the basic functions working but have now run into some difficulties and am currently stuck and in need of guidance.

So, to the issue:

Each card I’m making will depict an image consisting of a bunch of different 3D-objects, like a small scene. In my mind I’m visualising these cards as having depth, you can pick up and rotate the card in your hand and look into this 3D-scene, sort of like a parallax-effect. Or like looking into a box but you only see the ”hole”. I’ve attached images to clarify what I mean.

I have have managed to create this effect before (in AR) (and not in ue4) by using occluder-objects that block/cull whatever I want to block but I can’t manage to find a similar solution in ue4.

I’ve tried using scene capture components and created render target materials on a card to ”fake” the effect, but I feel like there should be better ways to create what I want. Used this tutorial: UE4 Tutorial: How To Build A Seamless Unreal Portal Door - YouTube

I’ve tried material cutoff effects that is controlled by another objects position but that is also a bit messy and does not really do what I want it to. Looked at this tutorial for that: Material Cutoff Effect Tutorial - (UE4) - YouTube