How to create a lock spot when character enters a sphere

Hi all,

I am making a level that has spheres that have a texture material that is rendered through the media player to display a 360 film (captured by gopro fusion camera). The idea is that a character walks into a sphere to then be inside a 360 video. This will be happening on a desktop.

I am a beginner with UE4, and so maybe more experienced people know tools to modify to achieve my aim, but my specific question: How can I ensure that the avatar/user ‘locks’ in to the center of where the sphere touches the ground, so that they don’t keep moving and therefore the perspective is even as they look into the walls of the sphere? I don’t want them to be too close to any one edge.

Imagine you in real life walk into a life-sized bubble and are standing in the middle of it - that’s what I want. (Then I want the movie to cue at that point etc but I’ll ask more q’s later).

Thanks so much!

When they walk into the sphere, the player needs to meet an overlap volume. On overlap, you can turn off the player ability to move ( leaving just look ), and move the player to the centre with a interp.

336453-moveplayer.gif

Thank you for your help! I’m going to try this out. I began fiddling with other things and dropped this, but in meantime as I learned more I started to imagine manipulating controls like this. : ) Thanks

@clockworkOcean,

Thanks again.
How about when I want to enable movement again? Let’s say there’s a button that pops up after 5 seconds, should I build nodes “when clicked” → “set move player [uncheck]” and then will it allow me to go? Or do I need to make a statement at the “false” part of the branch after “event tick” as shown in your blueprint photo? If so, what’s the statement for re-instating movement?

Cheers!

Just reset the ‘move player’ bool :slight_smile:

Hi - long time no talk ; )

How would I do this from a different actor blueprint?