How to Convert UMG Widgets from Local to Absolute Position - Touch Input

Hi Guys,

This appears to have been asked a few times. The resulting hit or miss responses—unfortunately—appear to have created less than desirable documentation.

Is there any way straightforward method to take the local position of a UMG Widget (Button, Image etc) ,defined in the designer, and convert that to the Absolute position on the screen that it renders to?

@Nawrot it appears you have pursued this in the past, so I am wondering if you could shed some light on this subject.

I’m currently working on creating a mobile game with various gesture controls, and I am not a UI designer/programmer by far (the team is stretched a little thin, so I offered to help out on the UI portion). The controls and gestures are currently working, but the problem comes from getting these to trigger based on the image UI elements that were created if the touch event overlaps with them.

To my chagrin, it appears that the InputTouch Event that conveniently comes with Start, Move, and Release components is overruled by any visible UMG elements: buttons, images etc. If these elements are visible, the Touch Input will not activate. This kind of throws a wrench in our gesture commands.

With that in mind, I have started down the path of manually checking if the OnTouch, OnMove, or OnRelease overlap with any of these UMG areas, but I am seemingly losing the battle of converting the Relative/Local position of these items into the same location as the Input Touch event.

Posting some of the posts which I have thus far referenced. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

Edited: Added additional reference.

Further testing of setting Anchor point to Top Left of Viewport and button’s location out to zero, and then trying: