How to "combine" multiple UMG Blueprints loaded by C++ code

I have a question I couldn’t find an answer to, but probably I am just searching for the wrong keywords given that I am pretty new to UMG.

I have layed out my “static” UI in one UMG blueprint, looks fine. I am adding it to my level with C++ (cannot remember the exact way how I implemented it at the moment, but thats not so important).

I am now in progress of creating a dialog system that should spawn a Dialog message when a certain event happens in game. Now, I would like to lay out the Dialog message in a seperate UMG Blueprint, and then load the blueprint, populate the fields, and add it to the existing UI with C++.

Is it possible to load multiple UMG Blueprints in the same game? How can I add it in C++? Is there some example I missed?

UMG Blueprints work very similar to Actor or Object blueprints. You have the blueprint asset itself in the editor and a generated class which you can load in C++ (or other blueprints). You can have as many UMG widgets in your game as you want. To make a reference to a UMG widget class in C++ you need to create a property like so:

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere)
TSubclassOf<UUserWidget> MyWidgetClass;

Then you need to set the class, which is easiest if you have a blueprint of the above class then you can set the MyWidgetClass in the editor defaults panel of that Blueprint. Then you can spawn that widget in C++ like so:

UUserWidget * MyWidget = CreateWidget<UUserWidget>(GetWorld()->GetGameInstance(), MyWidgetClass);

In order to add a widget to another widget in C++ you should have your main widget inherit from a custom UserWidget class which can have a blueprint implementable event to add a dialog widget to any slot widget.

Hope that gets you started.