How to check if Actor overlapped with an instance of itself ?

Hi everyone, I’m trying to replicate a mobile game where you basically have to shoot knives into a rotating circle without touch other knives like this:

The way I did it was to make the knife throwable by using a projectile movement comp, deactivating it when it hits the circle and attaching to the former circle like this:

The thing is that I couldn’t check if a knife is hitting another knife because then it saw the circle as a knife too when it collided with it (maybe because I’ve attached them ?).
I’m new to the whole thing so please excuse my stupidity :slight_smile:

What would you like to do when a knife hits another knife?

For example if you want to destroy both knives when they hit each other, you can add an overlap event in the Knife actor and destroy them, like this:

This will give a behaviour like this:

Since your overlap event is coming from ‘Cylinder’ component, it wont take overlaps from the Knives, as they are different actors with different collision components in them.

Hi mindfane, thank you for taking time to help me :slight_smile:

I did something similar to what you’ve suggested except with print string like this:

What happened is when my Knife projectile overlaps the circle it prints “Hello” twice, and when it overlaps the circle and a certain knife attached to it at the same time it prints “Hello” 4 times.

The mechanism I’m going for is to print a single “Hello” and only when a knife overlaps a given attached knife.

What is your component hierarchy for your Knife and Circle BPs? Do you have an explicit collision component?

Hi Again,
I’ll try to break down the project as much as possible to make things clear for you.

This is the result of the existing code:

This is the Knife and Cake’s hierarchy:
d

xx
I don’t really know what explicit collision means but if it means what I think it does then yes I have made my collision to be as accurate as possible instead of just boxes.