How to change child actor component paramters with C++?

I’m new to Unreal c++ coding, I have got a quetion about a match 3 game I’m working on with UE5, that I’m not familiar with how to resolve.

I got a C++ Tile base class, and A Tile_BP object inherits it.
The Tile_BP contains another Ball_BP component that has a lot of parameters, like some specific Materials slots, and some color variable slots.

Now I’m coding in the C++ Tile base class, that need to change the Material and color variable in the Ball_BP.

What I am doing is like, in Tile.cpp, the actual question in comments,

void ATile::SetTileMaterial_Implementation(class UMaterialInterface* MaterialToUse)
{
        // I want to access the Ball_BP
	UChildActorComponent* BallBP = Cast<UChildActorComponent>(GetDefaultSubobjectByName(TEXT("BP_Ball_solid_5pieces")));

// Tile_BP is derived from Tile.cpp base class
	ConstructorHelpers::FClassFinder<ATile>
		BPClassFinder(TEXT("/Game/BP/Tile_BP"));

TSubclassOf<ATile> Tile_BP = BPClassFinder.Class;

//try to cast the BallBP into Tile_BP component, so that maybe I can access variables there, but this wouldn't compile
	Tile_BP* selectedBall = Cast<Tile_BP>(BallBP);

// and how to access and change the Material and color variable here?

}

After some research, I ended up with following, it compiles, but crash my editor.

UChildActorComponent* BallBP = Cast<UChildActorComponent>(GetDefaultSubobjectByName(TEXT("BP_Ball_solid_5pieces")));

FStructProperty* ColorProp = FindFProperty<FStructProperty>(BallBP->GetClass(), "SurfaceColor");

//https://forums.unrealengine.com/t/how-to-get-color-property-by-name/389184/3
	// 
	if (ColorProp) 
	{
		FVector* v = ColorProp->ContainerPtrToValuePtr<FVector>(BallBP);
		v->X = 0.9;
		v->Y = 0.0;
		v->Z = 0.0;

UE_LOG(LogTemp, Warning, TEXT("SurfaceColor Property result: %s"), *(v->ToString()));
	}

You need Child Actor, not ChildActorComponent.
Tile_BP* selectedBall = Cast<Tile_BP>(BallBP->GetChildActor());

2 Likes