How to build from command line

I am new to UE and having trouble building a plugin.

I can’t get VS code to build the plugin, so can I compile from the command line?

Perhaps something like this?

cd $UE5_ROOT/Engine/Build/BatchFiles/Linux
./Build.sh Development Linux -Project=<path to plugin.uproject> -TargetType=Editor -Progress -NoHotReloadFromIDE

The above command is running, but it is taking a very long time. Is this rebuilding all of UE5, or just the plugin?

The plugin source code is located outside the UE5_ROOT directory. Is that OK?

Notes:

• I built UE 5.4 from source.
  • Platform: Fedora 39 linux

Hey @SJJ_1

have a look at this tutorial:

your command builds the project. You can also run the CleanProject.sh file and restart the building with a “fresh” project.

Hello,
Certainly! To compile a plugin from the command line in Unreal Engine (UE), you can use the RunUAT.bat script. Here’s how:

Navigate to the Engine Directory:
Open a terminal and go to your UE5 engine directory (where the Engine folder is located).
Run the Command:
Use the following command to build the plugin:
RunUAT.bat BuildPlugin -plugin=“” -package=“”
Replace with the actual path to your plugin’s .uplugin file. Replace with a folder where the newly compiled plugin will be output.
Plugin Source Location:
It’s okay if your plugin source code is located outside the UE5 root directory.
Remember to adjust the paths accordingly, and this command should build your plugin without rebuilding all of UE.
Best Regards
esther598

Thanks for the info @esther598

The example command I had in my question (using Build.sh) successfully finished (even though it may have done the wrong thing). However when I ran the command you suggested (using RunUAT.sh) it failed with a message about name clashes: