How to add image as observation when using Learning Agents

I’m new to unreal engine and try to find a way to take the image of the enviroment as observation (like human looking at the enviroment) with some others numeric observations and output the actions. But in the Interator, Event Setup Observations node, there is nothing like image, is it not supported yet?

It’s not currently supported because it’s something we want to discourage at the time being. Images pretty much need to be processed on the GPU and its not realistic to render a complex game on the GPU and do ML inference on the same GPU.

We will probably add it in the future but right now we want to encourage users to use ground truth information, i.e. game state directly.

Let me know what you think.

1 Like

Thank for your reply. Really looking forward for the future functions as i think the agents should work with the same amount of information as human

1 Like

Technically you could add it yourself in user space. If you sub-class the observation types, you can make a new one for images without needing to modify the plugin content itself.

The harder part would be adding in the 2d convolutions…

1 Like

Correct me if i’m wrong but the image is numerical matrix, then you can transform it to suitable (H,W,C), why is it hard?

It might be hard to add those operations in without having to modify that part of the plugin. I haven’t put a ton of thought into if that portion of the code is easily extensible or not. The actual content isn’t as concerning.

1 Like

I absolutely could be wrong, but I’m wondering if there isn’t a slight misunderstanding happening.

I’m wondering, Allen.The.Alien, if you are thinking of just inputting the pixel data directly without performing convolutions.