Download

How to add dlc into game for specific backers

I was wondering how I am able to add certain things for certain backers on Kickstarter I’m fixing on starting.

I’d like to give outfits or special things. But I don’t know how lol

I’m no expert, but usually aren’t these things done either with a physical individual code that you share with specific user, or some kind of token that authenticates the user

Yeah, I believe that’s how it’s done I just haven’t done it before and don’t really know how to do it lol

I was wondering if any other indie developers know how to do it and can share it with me

It’s a good question. I would like to know the answer too. I guess if you’re already capable of coding the networked online gaming, you would probably be able to code this level of authentication quite easily. I mean really a player could just have one extra int variable for “Status” 0 being basic, 1 being Gold, 2 Platinum etc etc.

I’m basically just rambling with ideas from my head though haha I have no idea how to actually implement them :slight_smile:

Never done DLC before, but here’s the documentation: Patching and DLC | Unreal Engine Documentation.

When you cook your project, Unreal Engine 4 (UE4) can divide up your game’s assets into separate chunks that can be independently distributed, such as with DLC and patches. A chunk is a numbered collection of assets recognized by the engine’s asset management system, and when a project cooks, each chunk generates a .pak file which you can then distribute through a content delivery system.

So what it seems like is just:

1. Put it in a chunk.
  2. Cook it into a .pak file.
  3. Distribute that file to your backers.

If you need to get a list of the assets, you can use the asset registry to scan for and get the assets. This is a twitter thread about that.

You’re awesome man thanks!!

1 Like

You think they could distribute it to others as well?