How long is an Unreal programming session for you?

Due to work, and family commitments, I sometimes only have 45mins or less to sit down and code Unreal in the evenings. I find it hard to get any work done in that time, primarily because i am still learning, and once I have finished context switching from father/husband to programmer and found out what I need to learn, it’s time for bed. (I.e. I sometimes don’t get to actually learn anything. My YouTube “Watch later” channel is currently about 50 vids long).

I’m staring at a level that is basically unchanged in over a week, and when I look at how little I’ve produced in that time, I wonder how I will ever get enough done to justify the time spent to myself (and my wife :slight_smile: ).

How long do you guys spend each day? And what are your biggest hurdles?

P.S. I’ve got a LAN party next month, so I’ll be spending a full four days devving with Unreal, so hopefully I will something to show after that. :slight_smile:

In the engine -> around 3-6 hours :slight_smile:
Programming (blueprints and C++) -> 3 hours

When it’s sunny outside I dont want to spend so many hours in front of the PC -> so instead of programming I will shoot some textures :stuck_out_tongue:

I am doing 2 to 3 hours a night (except Thursdays) during the week after work. On a Saturday and Sunday I am doing 6 to 10 hours a day.

Some nights will be a little less … but it all averages out eventually. I normally stop when I have completed a task or a few tasks … I very seldom try to leave tasks outstanding over a day or two … unless I need to sleep on it. 8-}

Trying to create a quality game is so complex and time consuming that in my opinion anything less than 8 hours a day will not get you anywhere far. Hell ,you would probably forget what you were doing by night time next day!