How long has it taken you to become a proficient modeler?

I am curious to know how long it has taken people on average to become proficient at modeling in general. It doesn’t really matter what type of modeling you do specifically, or what application you use. I ask because although I have been doing it as a hobby for the past few years I still find there are certain designs that are seemingly simple; but take me a long time to model. Which surprises me. Maybe it shouldn’t but I just thought I would be better by now.

I have heard that it takes close to 10,000 hours to become a professional at anything, I haven’t quite gotten there yet. I am still learning. What about you guys? What has your experience been like?

The 10000 hours thing is a myth. There is truth that you do need to practice, but you could become world class in almost anything in 1000-4000 hours (6 months to 2 years) as long as you are being smart with how you are learning, and being efficient.

Getting good feedback/criticism and deliberate practice are probably the most important things. But also keep trying new things, and don’t waste your working inefficiently. I’ve seen plenty of artists go from noob to professional in 6 months.

Yeah just frequently working on models improves your professionalism by being fluent with shortcuts and understanding how to build certain shapes. The other thing that can kind of affect it is the changes and iterations to the software, where the UI could completely change or brand new tools added to speed up your workflow. This part is all about keeping up to date with the software and finding new things that can reduce your development time.