how long for these goals

Goal 1: Make a small level just as small as a basketball court or even smaller but with AAA graphics like in the kite demo. For example a tiny but stunning mini jungle with nice plants and stuff.

Is that just as easy as throwing premade trees in and paint the bottom with some textures that you can get even for free in the market place???

Goal 2: Take the fps sample game and throw the current level out and then throw the own level from goal1 in so you can play the premade fps game in your own map.

the question is, as a total beginner how long does it take me to achieve those goals?

i try to get better hardware soon to be able to deal with the workload that is caused by heavy textures and stuff

sry for my bad english im from germany ^^

I assume you are yong because you focus too much on getting results quickly without much effort applied.
Well, try things and see if game development is really for you; “fast results” + “game dev” = “nonono!”

There’s cheap, fast, good; you can only have two.

i dont want to be an overnight game dev i just want to achieve those goals without any reason

not planning to make any games or so

If you want AAA quality visuals for goal 1, I would say several months (depending on your abilities and patience).

But ultimately I think you need to focus on goal 1, then break it down into smaller tasks and that should give you a better idea of how far away you are from succeeding. There’s a LOT to learn just in goal 1.

in the video at 15:00 i see a guy building a rock environment by drag & drop

so i could do that too if i just download the pack

and if i find good packs and assets (even buy some) i can make a little jungle as a noob or not?

i mean just throw things in and put them in the right spot where i want them and then i got my goal1 done?

^^

that guy does quite the same:

#push

:smiley: