How important is a good UV layout?

I am not a designer but I often read that it is really important to have a very nice uv layout and I am not sure why.

I know it is important if you want to use textures which are tiling because otherwise you can run some issues with seems but do we even use tiled textures for our current gen games? (I know that there are some cases where you want tiling textures , for example landscapes)

It seems that many artist just go into Zbrush, generate a uniform UV-layout and then paint onto the model, they may even project textures onto the model and it shouldn’t matter how your UV’s are layed out and where you have placed your seems.

What other reason are there that justify a nice manually unwrapped model?

For lightmaps it matters a lot, because you want to reduce the number of seams and optimize how much of the space that the UV’s cover.

In other cases, there’s similar things to look out for–optimize how much of the space you are using and reduce the amount of seams. In other cases you may want to avoid stretching so that pixels will be the same size across the mesh.
In other cases you want to avoid bleeding over to your UV’s. Games use LOD for textures so it will go to a lower resolution when the object is further away, that can mean that black background pixels can become bigger and bleed onto the UV’s and then the mesh looks bad.

Well in my opinion we are a long ways off of what I would consider a next gen game if the ideals is based on technological improvements. Most of the stuff you see now and think that’s new has been around for a while or even years and more or less someone getting around to taking advantage of an old feature never used.

How important is Uvmapping?