How does Networking work in C++/UE4?

Hello guys.

I’m studying the UE by taking a look at ShooterGame example.

Well, there are things that I don’t understand, like this one:

The **StartFire() **function get’s called.

If I’m a client, the ServerStartFire_Implementation() gets called and it calls the **StartFire() ** function AGAIN
Since I’m still a client, the ServerStartFire_Implementation() gets called AGAIN and it calls StartFire() AGAIN and so on!

If my match is hosted by a dedicated server (thus, it’s not a player who actually hosts the match) that IF-STATEMENT will probably never be true for every player

Maybe I’m misunderstanding the concept.

Will you explain me what happens and how it actually works?

Thanks!

If you look at the .h file for that, you’ll see that Server_StartFire has the ‘Server, Reliable, WithValidation’ tags. If a function is a ‘Server’ function, then it means that the Client will tell the Server to run that function. This call to the Server is known as an ‘RPC’ (Remote Procedure Call). The call will ONLY work if the Client Player is the ‘Owner’ of that object as far as both it and the Server are concerned.

In this case, when the Client calls ‘Start Fire’, they also tell the server to call ‘Start Fire’ for this weapon so that the Server runs through (some of) the same code (in this case anyway), and actually ends up spawning the projectile or processing an instant hit. I recommend reading the following:

A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements and Releases - Unreal Engine Forums,Using_ReplicatedUsing/_RepNotify_vars

This is strange; listen to this problem:

I start with **2 **of Health

I have these functions to increase my Health

When executed on the Server it adds me 20 of Health (that’s right)

When executed on the Client it adds me 40! That’s the twice!

It’s like if you are a client, the code get’s called twice O.o

Also, consider the DebugMessage in the top-left of the screen.