How do you work with UE4 in spite of its slow compile time and lack of documentation of coding c++?

How do you work with UE4 in spite of its slow compile time and lack of documentation of coding c++?

Hi. I’m a engine programmer who is developing a cross-platform game engine with c++.
I’m enjoying usually referring the UE4 code for developing the engine.

nowadays, I’ve want to know about this workflow in UE4:

1. Write a shader code (HLSL)
  2. Create a Material Object with the shader code (in Editor or Code)
  3. Write a code that make some object use my custom material with changing material properties

But It’s very hard for me to google the above workflow. There are only things about BP.
I know BP is quite useful, but I want to control most of the things in the code.
Even if I found some articles for the above workflow, they are normally outdated because nowadays UE4 changes its mesh rendering process.
So, Normally It’s hard to find a article of doing a basic coding in UE4 C++.

In addition to the lack of documentation, the compile time is insanely slow.
When I create one actor header and cpp, and try to compile it for seeing what’s going on,
It normally takes more than 1 minutes to compile just one added header and cpp.

I already googled about the compile time optimization like fastbuild, increbuild, NVIDIA Geforce Expereince, something like that.
But it’s too complex to configure it.

So, What I said is quite an offensive complaint.
In the meanwhile, I also want to know about your journey to overcome these kind of problems.
And I also want to know about Why do you keep using UE4 despite of those problems mentioned above.

You don’t really make materials or shaders in code, that’s what the material editor is for and what the engine expects you to use. Should be pretty rare that you need to type a single line of HLSL unless you’re doing something very specific. You can use Dynamic Material Instances to change properties at runtime.