How do you set the instance of an object within another object?

Hi!

Currently I am trying to make a game with two goals and a ball where two teams try and score. My current problem is I have a game master set up to handle all of the things going on within the game but I can’t figure out how to set references to my two goal trigger boxes within the game master blueprint.

I tried setting them on beginplay but when the game starts up it gives me an Accessed None error.

What am I doing wrong here? Both trigger boxes are in the world so they exist. I am fairly certain I am just setting them wrong.

how are you setting your variables? is the blueprint that your showing one that is placed in the scene? what is this game master blueprint that your mentioning? is it one you made or is it something like the game mode bp?

the setup of this blueprint will determine how to get the references. for example if you place this bp in the scene then you could use a public variable to set the values. if this bp is a game mode then you could easily use the level bp to get the reference then set a values in the game mode. but it all depends on how you have things set up now.

So the way I currently have it set up is the game master is it’s own object that is inserted in to the world. The ball is spawned once the game starts, so I can’t use the level blueprint because it doesn’t exist in the world until the game starts (or is there a way to do set instances in the Level Blueprint when they don’t exist yet?).

Currently, I have a variable of each goal created inside of the Game Master and I set each of them to an instance of the goal from the drop down and then attempt to set them at being play with the blueprint shown above. When I do this though, the cast fails and I get a return none error.

The Game Master itself is just an empty actor that handles the score variables and interaction between objects.