How do you make 'Global' variables?

I am quite new to UE, and in my situation i really really need use of global variables for Blueprints and Widgets.

Some simple, discrete and easy way i mean(for such simple thing). On practice something like:
I have global variable of Color type, call it WeirdOrange, and i don’t want ANY extra nodes when i’m using it.
Such functionality i managed to achieve by creating Blueprint, and throw it in to scene, but the problems is:

1. It works only in that particular level.
  2. I must create references for that Blueprint object.
  3. Need to add extra node for every use of such global variables,
    instead of WeirdOrange, there must be BlueprintRef->WeirdOrange every time.

Feels like too much extra work and inconvenient for such intuitively simple and needy thing as Global variables.

Thanks

The short answer is, use a plugin

https://www.unrealengine.com/marketplace/en-US/product/global-variable-system

( there are some others ).

The slightly longer answer is, maybe you need a bit more practice with the engine? ( excuse me if that’s wrong ). A lot of people have problems moving data between blueprints and widgets.

The full answer ( in short ), is related to the fact that all programming languages since Basic have spent a lot of time getting rid of global variables for a good reason. Namely, you will end up with unmaintainable, undebuggable code.

3 Likes

@ClockworkOcean I don’t think that pointing newbies towards 30$ plugin is a good idea, especially when it teaches them bad practices.