How do you make a sinking ship that breaks into multiple pieces?

Hi everyone, I’m new to using unreal 4. I’m working on a small historical project and require some help.

I’m recreating the sinking of a steamer from WWII for a historical game. I haven’t gotten around to modelling it yet, but looking at tutorials. I’m struggling to find ANYTHING that is similar to my project as a guide. I’d much rather have a good idea of how to achieve this before beginning.

I’m planning to model the ship which is split into several models with the intention of making it explode, sink and split into those multiple pieces at a set time and in a set way via animation. It takes place at night, so lighting plays into that. I’m also limited to Blender, Google Sketchup for modelling and Substance painter for texturing.

I’ve seen it done very similarly to what I’m looking for here in Unreal 4 - Titanic Sinks REAL TIME - 2 HOURS 40 MINUTES - YouTube at 2:39:20
Some problems I’m afraid will happen are :**

1 - Texturing - How can I make the textures seamless, Ie the decks will split into many pieces, how do I texture them so that I they look like they are just 1 model to begin with before the split.

2 - Lighting - I’m afraid that the light will shine through the break areas before it has split.

3 - Collisions - How do I make collisions adapt to the split? Is it just a case of generating collisions per item?

4 - Changing the shape of some pieces - when it hits the seabed, plating falls off and creases- no idea how I’d do this

If there’s any insight on how to make a ship explode, sink and split via animation in UE4, I’d really appreciate any.

I’ve included a crappy little 5 minute sketch from Paint to help illustrate the idea.
Thankyou

Hello, this sounds like a pretty big project. My I ask will the character/camera be right on the deck or do you plan on viewing this from a distance?

I’m hoping that the character will be able to roam the decks, but it’s not imperative