How do you import a tank track animation?

Hi all,

First of all, I’m quite new to animating stuff so I’m quite a beginner in that field. I would like to use this opportunity to get an idea of the steps I should look into when moving ahead with this project. I’m currently creating a toy tank for a personal project, which you can see in the following image:

As you can see, the tank has two tracks (the black bits) which I’d like to animate since I’m planning on using it as a vehicle within Unreal. This is what they look like by themselves:

I_WoodenTank_TrackCapture.JPG

However, and because they aren’t cylindrical, I don’t think I can create a bone and just drive the rotation with that as they do in the sample projects that are packaged with Unreal. I would think that I need to manually key the different vertex movements until a full rotation happens, and then export the track as a skeletal mesh with the animation. Would that sound about right? However, whenever I try to import the mesh Unreal is telling me that the file can’t be imported as yo can see next:

I_WoodenTank_ErrorCapture.JPG

What do you guys think? What would you do to in order to create such an animation and import it to Unreal? The main goal is to have that animation happening whenever the vehicle moves.

Thanks for your time to all who read this :slight_smile:

Brais

I would be inclined to animate the texture

Hi @FrankieV , thanks for your reply. I’ve looked into an animated texture, but it doesn’t give the same results as having the geometry actually moving. Especially in this case since the corrugated tracks would make it obvious that the underlying geometry is fixed, or so I believe? I guess I could use a displacement or height texture to get rid of the actual geometry and then use those maps to drive the movement, but I’d like to make a “realistic” solution rather than faking it, if at all possible. Thanks for your feedback though!