How do I transition from C# to C++?

Hey guys,

just switched to Unreal recently and I’ve been wanting to learn C++ for a while now. I come from doing C# and a comp sci background so I’m not a complete beginner. I’m struggling to find good resources to learn C++ (and I guess Unreal’s C++). I tried learncpp but couldn’t get into it. I want to have a video series I could follow that teaches me Unreal and C++ at the same time. Could you guys suggest some really good resources that’s video based for me to dig my teeth in and learn C++?

most tutorials for general C++ will focus on the standard library, and incorporating libraries where for Unreal you don’t necessarily need to deal with most of those. the syntax will look much the same, and through the Unreal Head Tool and Unreal Build Tool you get a lot closer to C# (at least in the Editor) while in C++ the Engine abstracts and simplifies a good portion of this as long as you are working with UObjects.

you can think of Unreal C++ as: C++ being moved in the direction of C#, with a tiny sprinkle of Visual-Basic naming conventions.
Similar to how C# is C++ being moved closer to Java

if your C# experience comes from Unity then this can help a bit (the section “Creating Gameplay in Unreal Engine” for C++ code examples with comparisons to Unity C#/mono)

some of the biggest differences for the languages specifically:
-in C++ we have header files (.h files that for Unreal will be found in the public directory) and “implementation” files (.cpp files that for Unreal will be found in the private directory), and we #include headers in a defined order to get things to know of each other. (kind of similar to Using) sometimes the reflection system doesn’t play well when creating the files without the Add C++ files in the Editor)
-C++ header/class/function does not know of anything until it is told to know about it again through the #include not having these is the primary reason to get a linker error.