How do I stretch a texture to fit the entire surface and not just make a lot of small squares?

I am very new to any kind of content design, and this is my first time ever using Unreal Engine 4. I watched a Youtube video on making a simple square room which I did, but I want to use my own textures since I actually plan on making my own game. I took some pictures of the carpet in my room. The pictures are 2560x2560 (125% scale of 2048x2048). They are pretty high quality and should look good on the floor. But it makes them into a bunch of little boxes, I just want it stretched to fit the entire surface.

I am a huge noob at this so please explain everything very simply and in detail.

The answer is here by
Plainly: Open up your material, right click go to landscape->texture coordinate node, make a node from texture coordinate node to your texture map and there adjust it

If you are having problems, see here how to set up a coordinate node

Uhm… is there any simpler methods? I tried following your directions and 's and have no idea what you’re talking about. I tried watching that video but he is very hard to understand, even after rewinding and listening many times I can’t understand what he is doing.

You don’t have to listen, you just have to see WHAT he does. I’m not on pc atm, when I go home I will take pictures to show you exactly how it is done if by then no one else hasn’t explained to you.

-either export the mesh into a 3d program and create a new uv map
-or use the texture coordinate node -> open the material - add a texture coordinate node and connect it with the uv from your diffuse map - in the node settings change the scale :slight_smile:

Do you use a mesh or a bsp?

Uhm I tried to hook up the texture coordinate node but I think something’s wrong… why is this happening?