How do i set collision on sword for only when i am swinging it at an enemy

hey everyone i am having a problem with the melee weapons collsion setup, i have an enemy that i have a behavior tree set up on an he attacks me , but my weapon collides and kills him before i swing my weapon, i am wondering how do i make my weapon collide only when i swing it at the enemy.

Trying using an anim notify in an anim montage.

Using the animation blueprint and anim notify events you should be able to set so the sword only has collisions while the animation is playing.

Yep good idea. Although for my own personal use I like using anim notifies as then things dont collide on the “ramp up” section of my animations.

i tried to set up something like that with enable and disable collsion nodes but did not work the way i set it up, could you be more specific about witch graph to use the bool and how to set it all up, im new at this and the only thing that helps is step by step tutorials. and havnt been able to find anything on this subject.

can you be a little clearer on how to set it up, im kind of new to unreal, any way you could post the some pics of the set up also?

It’s hard to answer your question without knowing how your specific combat system works, i.e. how you’re applying damage to your enemies.

To set an animation notify, open your animation blueprint, go the animations tab, and open your attack animation. There you’ll see a horizontal bar that says “Notifies”. RIght click on frame and select Add Notify > New Notify and name it whatever you like. I would create one notify somewhere at the start and another towards the end.

You can then call these events in your animation blueprint’s event graph and do whatever you like. In order to get or set a variable in your character blueprint, you’ll need to get the animation blueprint’s pawn owner and cast it to your character blueprint.

Can you post a screenshot of your animation blueprint event graph?