How do I repeat Mixamo walk animations in UE4?

Hello,

Newbie here. I’m trying to create a longer walk cycle for a character set up in Mixamo. The animation goes for about about two steps then stops. When I try to extend it with another animation of the same clip, the character returns to the original spot instead of continuing on from where he ended. I’m stumped. Any ideas to point me in the right direction? I don’t like the walk in place ones, because the feet slip.

Thanks in advance,

-Mike

Sounds like you have root motion in your animations. You need to get animations without root motion OR you need to set ‘Enable Root Motion’ in the animation. In the latter case you will need to create a Root motion controller to drive your character. Doing that is more work and makes creating multiplayer game more difficult but has better looking animation if your using motion capture based high quality animations.

If you work with 3ds max, there would be this technique :

-Create character in Mixamo (just character, no animations yet) or by any other means
*If you create your character, let’s say with 3ds max and you just want to use Mixamo’s animations, create your mesh, import in Mixamo, skin and rig there, then do the following step >
-Import your character in 3ds max (Before importing, make sure your System Units are set to cm, as well as the Display Unit!!)
-Use Mixamo’s autoCAT script to replace the original skeleton with a CAT rig (you can get it for free on their website)
-Select your CAT rig’s Base node > Modify Panel > Click on Motion Extraction Node (this will create a root bone for you, which you will need in UE4)
-Now select the Pelvis and go > Hierarchy Panel > Link Info > Bone Hierarchy > Animation Mode > Enable Additive to Setup Pose
Almost done!
-Select the CATrig’s Neck bone > Modify Panel > Spine Setup > Spine Control > Select Keyframed (it will warn you of something, click OK)
Repeat with Spine1 bone