How do I query project engine settings config from python?

Greetings all. I’m quite new to Python in Unreal, but am very comfortable with python in general.

I’m trying to use python to find the project level DefaultEngine.ini config file and query specific values from it. I would ultimately like to be able to modify values and update the config too, but happy to start simple.

Is there a built in class or struct I can pull these values from, or do I have to pull these from the DefaultEngine.ini directly?
If I need to source the DefaultEngine.ini, is there a convenient way to grab the file path?

I’ve managed to get a rough version of this working by parsing the file using pythons builtin configparser module. But this has a tendency to raise errors when it finds duplicate entries, which I’ve already run into on an empty project.

Here is what I have (roughly) so far…

import configparser
proj_dir = unreal.Paths.project_dir()
engine_config = os.path.join(proj_dir, 'Config', 'DefaultEngine.ini')
config = configparser.ConfigParser()
config.read(engine_config)
config.get('/Script/PythonScriptPlugin.PythonScriptPluginSettings', 'bIsolateInterpreterEnvironment')
3 Likes

Although this seems like it would work, the ini file format used in UE doesn’t conform to the spec defined in configparser. UE uses multiple identical keys for array values and this breaks the base implementation for configparser which requires section keys to be unique when reading. I’ve had to write my own parser implementation to cast it to list when more then one entry appears in the ini file.

1 Like

Have you guys been able to make this work at all? I’m just trying to figure out the same thing. I was hoping to find a Python example that reads Editor Preferences and writes them, but I can’t find anything like that :frowning:

To read/write from it isn’t the hard part.

This will get it in for you as a dictionary, that supports the weird ini syntax of duplicate keys:

data = {}