How do I make it so the exit gate opens after I collect all the collectibles?

Hello! I’m pretty new to UE4 and as such have very limited understanding of how blueprints and such actually works. I have to use UE4 for an assignment and now I need help to figure things out to make this last part working using blueprints.

I’ve been trying to make it so that once the final collectible is picked up, the camera will change to show the gate at the end open up before returning to the character.

I’ve been able to make it so that once you press a button this scenario plays out thanks to tutorials online, but I would want it to happen as soon as the final collectible is picked up rather than having to interact with a button. How do I accomplish this?

This is the blueprint for the gate and camera.

I have a widget that will tell you how many collectibles you have in a “X amount out of Y” fashion so I assume that once X=Y it should make the gate open. But I just don’t know how to accomplish this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi JMK,

There are a few ways you could do this. The simplest could be when you update the “X amount out of Y” you could do a check after this to call the Open Gate Event. This can even be done from outside of your player class. Are you updating the “X amount out of Y” from the player when you interact with the collectable?

I’m not exactly sure what you mean nor how to really “do a check” as you say. As I’ve mentioned, I’m very new to this. I think I may have tried something like this, but I must’ve done it incorrectly.

How it works at the moment is that once the player touches or picks up a collectible (by either walking into it or pressing the action button), this collectible will disappear and add onto the total.

This is the blueprint for the actual collectible when you put it down in the map. I don’t know if this could be used in a way to do what you say would be the simplest way to do it.