How do I get Vertical and Lateral Speed?

I am working with UE4’s character blueprint and movement component, and I was wondering if there is a way to get the capsules vertical speed and its lateral speed separately? I would like my characters In Air animations to be controlled by how fast he is moving up or down, and how fast he is moving across the XY plane. I know how to get velocity in the Anim blueprints event graph and control a variable with it, but the velocity is both up or down, and left or right/front to back. So I need to be able to get its different velocities separately from one another. I am relatively new to blueprint, and I am an animator not a programmer :(. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in Advance!

So, you want to have the x, y and z value of the velocity?

Try dragging out the velocity vector and search for “Break Vector” in the Context Menu. This will give you the 3 axis.

You can also have a look here:

Maybe you find something that fits your needs (:

Well, that worked, but is it now possible to have both X and Y control speed? Or do I have to combine those vectors somehow? I’ve looked in the link you gave, but I couldn’t find what I needed.

I just tried to have X and Y control two Speed variables, but that gives me weird results. Sorry I hope I don’t sounding too naive or dumb, gameplay programming is a whole new thing to me. I like It, but don’t understand some things yet.

Hm, i would need to test this myself, but taking the Z value for up and down movement and the X and Y for the should work.

Try to use the Z alone for the UP and DOWN thing and make a new vector out of the X and Y value. Set the Z value of this new vector to 0 and try to get the length (like you would do to get the speed from the normal velocity).

This SHOULD give your the speed of the character for X and Y…

If this is not working, then i would need to have a look at it myself, but i’m currently totaly stuck in learning for exams. :frowning: