How do I get my UMG text box to not allow mature language, numbers, and special characters?

Hello! I’m new to Blueprint/UE and I wanted to make a text box where the player types their name, but I don’t want to allow them to be able to type mature language/curse words, numbers, or special characters. And if it’s not too much trouble, I also need help on limiting the number of characters the player is able to type and not letting them proceed to the game until they have typed a name.

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

You nedd to create a Variable in your UMG, make it a String and an Array.

Fill it with a List of your forbidden Text Content.

When selecting your EditableText Widget, create an “OnTextChanged” Event.

Two ways now:
1st:
Check your EditableText against each forbidden word by using a foreach loop of the Array and a (String)Contains Node. If one exists, use String Replace to delete it. After completing SetText your Editable Text back to the changed one.
Remember to store your EditableText into a String Variable, too.

2nd:
Like the first one… But don´t check if the Text contains a string… just use replacement on every forbidden word.

​​​​​​​Depending on how long your Wordlist is… 1st or 2nd is more performant…

Thanks for the reply!

I’m just a little confused on how it’s supposed to be set up/connected. Do you think you can show me an example or screenshot of the first way?

Sure… here is an example of how to do a Number only Input (only allow numerical Inputs with or without “.” or “,”).
Important if you wanna copy this: I created a LocalVariable inside the Function, called “NumHolder”, to store the outcome before returning.

And here is, how to use this Function:

On TextCHanged, i check against the Text, if it only includes numerical signs (without ./,), to return an Integer Value only.

So, you may ask, how to check against words now…
A new Function like my GetNumeric above… I calll it “GetTrusted”.