How do I do Level Blueprint to Widget Progress Bar?

I made a hunger system in my level blueprint and instead of printing a string I want to cast it to my hud through a progress bar. Does anyone know how to do this. Providing screenshots would be very helpful. Thanks!

• Thrillride Games

The best way to go about this would to have your hunger system in your Player controller or Character/Pawn. If you added the HUD to the screen through your player controller, then you can simply promote the HUD to a variable and reference that to update your HUD whenever it changes.

Hi Prototype6143,

Thank you for replying to my post. I’m quite new to blueprints and unreal engine so maybe you could help out a little more? I took my hunger system and put it into my TopDownCharacter as shown here:

However, I don’t know where to go from here. I have the progress bar setup in the widget it is connected to but I am not sure what to put to bind it. Could you provide screenshots of what I would need to do to bind it for a progress bar? Also, is what I have so far (the blueprint in the TopDownCharacter) correct?

Thank you,
Thrillride Games

Unfortunately I am not able to access UE4 at the moment, but im more then happy to try and help.

From your setup things are pretty simple, but as for the tick event, this is something you would normally try and avoid as much as possible (Trying not to use tick unless its necessary for performance reasons). So here is an alternative which you can use and change to meet your needs.

Character Hunger Setup:
1: Find (Or recreate if you deleted it) the “On Begin Play” event and create/link a “Set Timer By Event” node in your character
2: Create a new “Custom Event” and name it something like “Event_UpdateHunger”
3: Link the little red box in the top right corner of the custom event to the little red box on the Set Timer by Event node.
4. Set the interval timing for the timer (33.33333 as seen in your delay).