How do I create a Time & Distance tracker (for the player)?

Hi all,

I am very new to UE4 and it’s visual scripting software but have been able to recreate the Endless Runner tutorial over on the UE4 YouTube page. My goal is to make a prototype game (very basic) of an Endless Running game that is 1st person and focuses on parkour movements with PCG tiles and obstacles…

What I am trying to work out and create is a Time & Distance tracking which the player could see in the UI.The best example I can find of this being done is here: eFPS - Demo Project - Extensive Gameplay Reel - YouTube

If anyone could help I’d be very grateful, thanks!

Use Timer for time

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Gameplay/HowTo/UseTimers/Blueprints/index.html

If for distance, i assume you moving terren instead of character (never seeh tutorial so i’m not sure how they did infinit ranner game), you will need to cheat a little. Add up delta time on Tick event (in float varable, so on every tick you got increasing number) now you need sync the speed with scaleing delta time (multiplaying delta time you gonna add), this way you add up distance based of time with inclusion of speed. If character teleports than you simply add the static distance to varbale

Hi ,

Thank you for the help. The link you sent are the ones I found previous to posting my question, so re-reading them and trying to make sense of them in a different context outside of the template referenced isn’t going to work (for me), but will try and again now.

As for the distance tracking, the world is consistently generated (PCG) while the player is forcefully being moved at a constant speed - just like a standard endless runner game. Would you be able to show visually the method you are explaining, I am struggling to understand it?

GOOD NEWS, I figured out how to do the timer. Now, I am just in need of help in creating the distance counter. Thank you.

Ok, then add up position difference between the ticks.