How do I create a 3D game that looks like 2D graphics?

Such as

Which they stated their using 3D models.

also another example is Neptunia series.

I’m new to game creation. However I’ve worked in and out of 3D since 2001, also have tried learning to code various times. I think I know the basics, I just need to learn how this is done.

In UE4, would this be more dependent on the 3D program used to achieve this artstyle? Or would it be more of picking the right settings in UE4? I’m thinking since I don’t think their using any shaders and such that it’s all done in the 3D program, and then you just import the 3D stuff?

I’m using blender, and I found a very helpful “make 3D look 2D” community here:
https://plus.google.com/communities/108144612048376530335

but I’m particualy interested in creating that “ragnarok look” in the first video. What goes into creating that? Is it really hard? If anyone knows I’d super apperciate it if you can share some tips with me!

Well can look to the top down game setup for something like that, but something that probably would be a really good example is the tower defense game, it does an amazing job at taking that 3d object and smushing it into a more 2d perspective.

But really those games are 3d games they just set the camera in a locked position above the players head, and then have it follow it around, this is very much like the top down starter project. From there it’s just adding in your 3d meshes. If you have a small bit of pocket change there is an asset package or two that is top down items, overall though you just build 3d models like you would for a 3d game, just a matter of the art style where you know a building only needs to be viewable from 2 or 3 sides, so you change up the perspective when you make the model to say.

For art style you might need to pick a different shader depending on exactly what you are going for, but there are some example projects in UE for that well around the more cartoon aspect shader.

Hey.