How do I actually *use* the Lyra framework?

So I’m new to game dev and UE. I’m a web developer so am familiar with coding and software dev. However, I’m having a difficult time figuring out where the Lyra framework ends and the game example(s) begin. Is the framework in content folder and the examples in plugins? Or is part of the framework also in c++ classes/LyraGame and LyraEditor? Is this even a fully fledged ‘framework’?

I guess what I’m expecting from a framework is tools to scaffold out a game. Places to register new abilities, pickups, guns, maps, etc. I’m expecting something like Laravel that has places for controllers, data, etc.

I started following this tutorial on how to add new gameplay ability and it had me going into project settings to add tags. Which struck me as very odd. Like almost having to leave the editor to add a new feature. In Laravel I don’t have to change a project setting to add a new endpoint, that’s absurd!

Any tutorials or tips on how to use Lyra would be greatly appreciated! Thank you

If you are new to Unreal, Lyra is probably not a good starting point.
It’s a pretty complex framework based on GAS (Gameplay Ability System) that is even more complex.

A Udemy course I would recommend to learn GAS is this from Stephen Ulibarri, it’s more than 100 hours long but it gives you a good understanding of that framework (and also teaches you basic unreal things)

A youtube channel that does Lyra videos is NanceDevDiaries, try to give it a look before buying stuff and try to understand if you really want to dive into this.

Never compare unreal to web dev, you’ll discover how many absurd things are present in this engine soon if you continue to work with it!
I have to say that I still prefer it to Laravel tbh! :joy::sweat_smile: